Catalhoyuk

Remember in class when I said that I really wanted to go to Brazil? Well that’s because I do and also because my list of places to go isn’t very long. Then I got my login word and needles to say; the list is now longer.  And this is why:

Catalhoyuk:  An ancient town in Turkey known to be one of the earliest settled civilizations.

Thanks to ancientanatolia.com for the picture!

It turns out that these people served a “mother goddess” and no others, which I find odd for the time period because I’m pretty sure that at this point in time the Greeks and Romans held power in this area and would have most likely have influenced their beliefs. Just a random thought.  More likely is that since these people’s livelihoods involved farming, they worship in pagan fashions to protect their crops and their futures.

Also, like other early civilizations, their houses were made of “mud brick and plaster.” But here’s the weird thing. Instead of walking through a front door to get into their  house they went through a whole in the ceiling. At least that’s what anthropologists have come up with so far. Personally, I just think that it’s a simple chimney. Ok, I think I’ve rambled on enough about the topic. If you like Catalhoyuk in the slightest bit you can follow the links to read more or… you can watch a video I found on YouTube that gives a better introduction to Catalhoyuk than I can. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CNZRzKChn84

The okapi group from Berkeley that made the video also has a really cool interactive website that lets you excavate the site, tour in 3-D, and gives you other fun ways to learn about the ancient awesomeness that is Catalhoyuk. http://okapi.berkeley.edu/remixing

Oh! And I almost forgot: before I go, thanks to the following websites for donating their knowledge for our curiosity filling purposes.

  http://archaeology.about.com/cs/religionandmagic/a/catalhoyuk.htm?p=1

  https://www.stanford.edu/dept/anthropology/cgi-bin/web/?q=node/27

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Catalhoyuk

  1. Megan M. says:

    Nice post. Catalhoyuk was actually built several thousand years before the Roman civilization developed though – it’s one of the earliest places where we may have evidence for extensive religious worship – the types of activities here probably were the predecessors for what later became the more formal religions of Ancient Rome and Greece.

Leave a Reply

