Tears of the Desert – Friendship

Friendship Quotes

*Missing Chapter’s did not obtain any quotes of friendship…

Chapter Three

P.34                 Everyone knew who the beer women were. The only people they could      really socialize with were other beer women.

P.35                 “But they’re my friends and I like being with them,” my father objected.

P.35-36            Whenever these friends came to call, she would tell them that my father wasn’t in…welcoming his friends with smiles—and they’d head off to have a nice time drinking sorghum beer together.

P.36                 I made my way to a friend’s house.

Chapter Five

P.54                 So when it came to Friday morning and a toss-up between a morning with the Imam, or one climbing trees, fighting with our friends, and causing mayhem, there was no competition really.

P.60                 All of my childhood friends—Kadiga included—were envious of my good fortune.

Chapter Six

P.69                 In a stroke of good fortune I was to prove gifted at math, which would cement the friendship between us.

P.69                 I reached out and gave her hand a friendly squeeze

P.70                 This is a scene where Mona and Rathebe are bonding over their hate for the teacher.

P.73                 After school Mona and I would walk most of the way home together…I felt secure and confident in her company.

P.74                 Neither of them seemed very happy about it, but I had Mona and the other black girls egging me on.

Chapter Seven

P.83                 I just wanted to be like my Zaghawa school friends…

P.90                 In that sense it was my friends’ fight, as much as it was mine…I had my head buried in a book, as if I was waiting for one of my friends.

P.92                 I glanced up and saw my friends all around me, cheering and cheering me on.

Chapter Eight

P.101               I tried to rekindle my friendship wit Kadiga, but things were different now…It was the same with the other children.

Chapter Ten

P.123               My girlfriends from junior school had all passed their exams, so at secondary school Mona, Najat, Samirah, Makboulah, and I were able to re-form our gang…

Chapter Eleven

P.130               My best friend, Kadiga, was married with a little boy now…Somewhere deep down in my heart I regretted it, but this was the path that I had chosen.

Chapter Twelve

P.138               I should make friends only with those that I could trust.

P.140               His daughter and I were the best of friends already, he told me, so I was like a second daughter to him now.

P.147               I had made good friends, and even found myself enjoying the company of the male students.

Chapter Thirteen

P.152               …so I had gone to see my old school friends, Mona.

P.154               …I was overjoyed to see Rania, Dahlia, and my other friends.

Chapter Fifteen

P.176               …one of her best friends. I didn’t like Asha one bit.

P.176               All of her friends have three of four children by now.

Chapter Seventeen

P.180               I befriended a kindly old man who had worked at the hospital for many years…

P.199               I had a feeling the she, Osman, and I were going to be good friends.

P.200               I enjoyed their company and their friendship so very much.

Chapter Eighteen

P.201               Aisha quickly took me under her wing, becoming like my mother and my best friend all rolled into one.

Chapter Twenty-Three

P.248               Each evening we would call together the survivors in our area, and we would eat as one big family.

P.257               “Sister, I’m happy to help,” the driver repeated. “My name is Abdul Rasal. You can trust me…

Chapter Twenty-Four

P.264               For eight weeks I stayed in their house, rarely if ever leaving…I could tell that Malaika liked having me around. I was friendly and useful and someone for her to talk to.

P.265               Malaika would return to find me in tears. She’d put her arms around me and beg me to tell her what was wrong…

P.266               She would never forget me, she said, and maybe one day I would tell her my story…

Chapter Twenty-Five

P.276               “Here,” he said, handing me a L10 note. “Take it. It’s not much, but I can’t afford much…

P.277               My Eritrean roommate, Sarah, quickly took me under her wing.

P.278               I hated being back there. Sarah, my Eritrean friend, told me that if I really wanted to get out of that place I would need a solicitor.

Chapter Twenty-Six

P.280               But at the same time I was saddened, for it meant losing my best friend and mentor—not to mention the room we had made our sanctuary.

P.283               We’d have to share with my friends, but we’re all Zaghawa and we’d make it work.

P.284               I was happy to be living among Zaghawa people again.

Chapter Twenty-Seven

P.289               I wanted to give birth in Southampton, so that Sharif and my friends could be there.

P.290               I was left with a gaggle of Zaghawa women. They cooked for me and washed baby Mohammed and clothed him, while I rested and regained my strength.

P.295               There was a shocking example of this in our building… The teachers and the mothers were all very good to us, and it was a lovely place. I really loved it there, and so did Mo.

This entry was posted in Tears of the Desert. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

